Lynx duo awarded August Player & Manager of the month

Lynx duo Alberto Valdivia & Albert Parody have been awarded FG Player & Manager of the Month for August.

FG Player of the Month – Alberto Valdivia (Lynx)

Alberto has had a great start to the season, scoring three goals and a few assists. The 23-year old will spearhead the Lynx attack, and if the Spaniard can strike up a partnership with Marko Marcius & Mohamed Badr, we could be looking at this season’s dark-horses.

  1. Alberto Valdivia (Lynx)
  2. Tamupiwa Dimairo (FCB Magpies)
  3. Juanfri Pena Garcia (St Joseph’s)

FG Manager of the Month – Albert Parody (Lynx)

Albert has put together a good squad which has performed excellently so far. The 51-year old has brought in some good players in the summer, mixed in with good local players while managing to keep the main nucleus of the team from last season.

  1. Albert Parody (Lynx)
  2. David Wilson (FCB Magpies)
  3. Raul Procopio (St Joseph’s)

Part Two of FG Awards 2019 announced

Part Two of the FG Awards 2019 has come to close with over 2000 votes casted – below is Adam Roberts & Daniel Griffin’s winners and the fans ones too.

FG Young Player of the Season – Tjay De Barr (Europa)

Adam – It was a no-brainer really. Tjay has been sensational this year and been the leading light in a difficult campaign for Europa. His pace, skill and eagerness to take on defenders has been a delight to watch and he will be sorely missed next season – good luck for the future.

Dan – Much like what Adam said, this was a no-brainer, with De Barr excelling more than perhaps even he may have expected in the last season. Tjay has a bright future, and the move to Oviedo should be great for his development.

FG Player of the Season – Bernardo Lopes (Lincoln Red Imps)

Adam – Bernardo has been arguably Lincoln’s best player, not just this season, but for many. The Portuguese has always been someone the Imps can rely on in those nervy situations and nearly always comes out on top. A big time player and one which Lincoln won’t want to lose.

Dan – Lopes makes the game look remarkably easy at times and is a colossus at the back for Lincoln. He’s been consistent for a good while now, and is a key reason this year why his side retained their title.

Adam Roberts’ Team of the Season

  • Jamie Robba (St Joseph’s)
  • Marcos Perez Trujillo (Lincoln Red Imps)
  • Fede Villar (Mons Calpe)
  • Bernardo Lopes (Lincoln Red Imps)
  • Ethan Jolley (Europa)
  • Anthony Hernandez (Lincoln Red Imps)
  • Mustapha Yahaya (Europa)
  • Nahuel Pereyra (Mons Calpe)
  • Tjay De Barr (Europa)
  • Salvador ‘Boro’ Delgado (St Joseph’s)
  • Leonardo Carboni (Mons Calpe)

Daniel Griffin’s Team of the Season

  • Jamie Robba (St Joseph’s)
  • Marcos Perez Trujillo (Lincoln Red Imps)
  • Fede Villar (Mons Calpe)
  • Bernardo Lopes (Lincoln Red Imps)
  • Ethan Jolley (Europa)
  • Alex Quillo (Europa)
  • Mustapha Yahaya (Europa)
  • Tjay De Barr (Europa)
  • Salvador ‘Boro’ Delgado (St Joseph’s)
  • Juanfri Garcia Pena (St Joseph’s)
  • Juan Pablo ‘Pibe’ Pereira (Mons Calpe)

FG’s Lower Team of the Season

  • Alejandro Caro (Lynx)
  • David Bautista (Lynx)
  • Brad Power (Lynx)
  • Juanma Ferrer (Glacis)
  • ‘Chuky’ Gonzalez (Lynx)
  • Nacho Fernandez (Glacis)
  • Alan Parker (Glacis)
  • Federico Cataruozzolo (Lynx)
  • Mohamed Badr (Lynx)
  • Alberto Caravaca (Lions)
  • Alberto Valdivia (Lynx)

FG Second Division Player of the Season – Matheus Assumpcao (Brunos Magpies)

Dan – Assumpcao has proven to be an inspired signing for Magpies this season, and while the term “Brazilian Flair” may sound like a cliche, the playmaker has done that to Brunos – you only have to see his goal vs Hound Dogs on the last game of the season. It will be interesting to see how he adapts to the top division next season.

FG Second Division Young Player of the Season – Egbo Godwin (FC Olympique)

Adam – After failing to make much of an impact last season, Egbo has been superb for Olympique in time around. Bossing the midfield at times, had a good partnership with Carenote and was one of Olympique’s most consistent players. It’s also worth to mention that his team-mate Uche was close in second.

FG Second Division Manager of the Season – David Wilson (Brunos Magpies)

Dan – Wilson has managed to guide his side to league and cup success, as well as the quarter finals of the Gibtelecom Rock Cup – even more impressively doing it with a vastly reduced squad for half of it. In truth, he has deserved to be managing in the top tier, and next season will be a challenge for him, but one I think he’ll thrive on.

Fans Young Player of the Season:

  1. Tjay De Barr (Europa)
  2. Ethan Britto (Mons Calpe)
  3. Chico Rubio (Gibraltar United)

Fans Player of the Season:

  1. Bernardo Lopes (Lincoln Red Imps)
  2. Tjay De Barr (Europa)
  3. Juan Pablo ‘Pibe’ Pereira (Mons Calpe)

Fans Team of the Season:

  • Marcos Zappacosta (Mons Calpe)
  • Miguel Londero (Mons Calpe)
  • Gonzalo Guijaro (Gibraltar United)
  • Aymen Mouelhi (Gibraltar United)
  • Bernardo Lopes (Lincoln Red Imps)
  • David Gomez Prieto (Gibraltar United)
  • Ernesto Cornejo (St Joseph’s)
  • Domingo Ferrer (St Joseph’s)
  • Manuel Arana (Europa)
  • Tjay De Barr (Europa)
  • Leonardo Carboni (Mons Calpe)

Fans Lower Team of the Season:

  • Bradley Banda (Lynx)
  • Courtney Lewis (Glacis United)
  • Jared Buhagiar (Lions)
  • Brad Power (Lynx)
  • Yassin El Melki (Glacis United)
  • Antonio Gonzalez Garcia (Lynx)
  • Nacho Fernandez (Glacis United)
  • Andres Jesus Medina (Lynx)
  • Mohamed Badr (Lynx)
  • Gabriele Novello (Glacis United)
  • Naoufal El Andaloussi (Glacis United)


Premier Division awards announced

As the Premier Division season drew to a close nearly two months ago, Adam Roberts & Daniel Griffin dished out a few accolades. 

The Football Gibraltar duo chose their top player and manager from the 2016/17 Premier Division season, as well as picking their ultimate XI from the campaign.

We also gave a chance for the fans to vote which is posted below. Continue reading