Saints maintain unbeaten start

St Joseph’s kept up their unbeaten start to the season with a comfortable 4-0 win against a stubborn Europa Point side last night.

Photo (C) David Roberts

Saints manager Raul Procopio opted for Francisco Mateo in goal over Jamie Robba, while Kenneth Chipolina and Fran Cano were afforded rare starts in the Saints lineup. For Europa Point, there was a start for Dayan Torrilla, while Omar El Yettefti was benched.

From the get go, Saints set out their unsurprisingly attacking intentions, with Boro hitting the woodwork after three minutes, but it was in truth a fairly quiet opening period of the game until Loren’s effort, potentially aided by a dummy from Juanfri, snuck into the bottom corner.

There was a double blow for Europa Point, with Tarik Chrayeh limping off injured after just 10 minutes, but against the run of play they nearly equalised – off a good counter attack, the hard-working John Stewart had a good chance but saw his shot hit the post and go away from the goal. That would be as good as it got for their side, as not long after, Erin Barnett headed in from Nano’s corner to make it 2-0.

That would remain the score until after the second half started, when on the hour mark, Sykes Garro curled in a good effort into the top corner, past the helpless Daniel Tudela who was by far the busier keeper on the night. Soon after, Juanfri got his customary goal with a tap-in from close range, and the floodgates looked like they were about to open, however Europa Point held firm to ensure Saints couldn’t rack up a massive scoreline on the night. Saints move back to second, a point behind Lincoln with a game in hand, while Europa Point remain 11th.


St Joseph’s: Mateo; Chipolina, Garro (Casciaro, 70), Boro (Villar, 77), Nano, Pishu, Barnett, Cano (Guirado, 63), Loren, Juanfri, Pons

Unused Subs: Robba, Rojas, Juanma, Mouelhi

Europa Point: Tudela; Josef Webber, Chrayeh (Chiles-Cowell, 10), Pomares, Bado, Torrilla (El Yettefti, 52), Moulds, Arjona (Martinez, 68), Stewart, Jacob Webber, McCarthy

Unused Subs: Adams, Perez, Mustafa, Hockin

Yellow Cards: Pishu, Casciaro; Josef Webber, Jacob Webber, McCarthy, Hockin

Red Cards: None