San Marino v Gibraltar: Match Preview

Gibraltar will secure an historic promotion in the Nations League today if they beat San Marino in today’s League D encounter in Serravalle.

Photo (C) Black and Burst

After two wins from two group games, and Liechtenstein’s draw with San Marino last time out, Gib know three points will give them an unassailable five point lead in the group – very impressive after three games in a three team group.

For San Marino, they will no doubt be buoyed by their draw in Vaduz, and for them this is their last chance to try and secure a result in the group – Gib will be fully aware of how hard they will have to work for their win after the reverse encounter at the Victoria Stadium back in September, but will fancy their chances of doing that.

The friendly defeat to Bulgaria at least saw no obvious injury concerns, meaning Julio Ribas should have as full a squad as possible to pick from – San Marino also rotated players in their 3-0 friendly loss against Latvia, but they are missing some experienced players from their last squad, including Danilo Rinaldi, Luca Tosi and Mirko Palazzi.

A note of caution for Gib though; eight players are one booking away from missing the game vs Liechtenstein – Liam Walker, Kyle Goldwin, Jack Sergeant, Louie Annesley, Aymen Mouelhi, Tjay De Barr, Graeme Torrilla and Ethan Jolley.


After two wins from two competitively, Gib go into this game as odds on favourites, at a price of 5/6 – San Marino are 4/1 while the draw is 21/10. With the reverse fixture not seeing San Marino having a shot on target, and given the lack of goals in the group, it is little surprise Both Teams Not To Score is 4/9.

In the player betting, Tjay De Barr, who won Gib’s last game vs Liechtenstein with his goal, is 3/1 to score in 90 minutes today, while it would be fitting if one of Lee Casciaro (2/1) or Roy Chipolina (6/1), mainstays of the Gib team for this whole century, were to score the goal that secured the national team promotion.

FG’s Predicted XI’s:

San Marino – E. Benedettini; Battistini, Simoncini, Brolli, Rossi, D’Addario; E. Golinucci, Cervellini, Tomassini; Hirsch, Berardi

Gibraltar – Coleing; Sergeant, Wiseman, Chipolina, Olivero; Annesley; L. Casciaro, Badr, Torrilla, Walker; De Barr