Gibraltar U21 final squad confirmed

Gibraltar U21 Head Coach Aaron Asquez has confirmed his final 18-man squad for the UEFA U21 qualifier away at Austria on June 8th.

After selecting a preliminary 28-man squad on May 19th, Asquez and his team had a few days to run the rule over his squad, including a training match vs the Senior National Team, themselves preparing for a qualifying match against Cyprus on the 9th.

Injuries forced the manager’s hand with some of the players who missed the cut – Dayle Coleing, Jayce Consigliero, Luke Buxton and Alan Parker all picked up injuries that meant they were no longer fit enough to have any involvement with the squad, which meant the other six players who were unfortunate enough not to make the cut were Lee Coombes, Jack Breed, Keiron Garcia, Kevagn Ronco, Leone Seatory and Theo Pizarro.

Three members of Jeff Wood’s senior squad will join the team after this game, for the qualifier against Armenia on the 13th; Jamie Coombes, Erin Barnett and Jayce Olivero will all add senior experience to the U21 team in their second qualifier.

Gibraltar U21’s play away at Austria at 8:30pm Gib time on Thursday, before a ‘home’ game in Faro against Armenia on Tuesday 13th June, at 8pm Gib time.

Final U21 squad (for Austria away):

Goalkeepers –¬†Bradley Banda, Robert Rae

Defenders – Louis Annesley, Liam Crisp, Ethan Jolley, Daniel Sanchez, Jamie Serra

Midfielders – Scott Ballantine, Leon Clinton, Tjay De Barr, Shaun De Los Santos, Andrew Hernandez, Michael Negrette, Cecil Prescott, Graeme Torrilla, Jesse Victory, Jaron Vinet

Forwards: Liam Thorne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *