Gibraltar Under-19s squad named for European Championship

The Gibraltar Under-19s squad for this week’s European Championship in Albania has been named.

Boss Jansen Moreno has selected an 18-man group for the Championships and the squad will now reconvene on Wednesday to travel to Georgia ahead of their Group 4 opener with Germany in Durres on Thursday 16th October.

Bradley Banda, Jake Victor, Theo Pizarro, Andrew Hernandez, Liam Crisp, Leon Clinton and Aidan Ghio all played a part in last year’s. 

Louie Annesley, Julian Valarino, Max Cottrell Cecil Prescott, Richie Parral and Tjay De Barr all played for Gibraltar in the development tournament which was held in the Victoria Stadium a few years back.

Gibraltar will be without five key players for this years Euros with Leon Payas, Kevagn Ronco, Shaun de los Santos, Byron Espinosa and Jayce Olivero all missing out.

Also in Gibraltar’s group stage at the Championships are Albania and the Republic of Ireland, who will prove a great test against the young squad.

Following their opener this Thursday, Moreno’s side take on the Irish on Saturday 8th October before facing Albania on Tuesday 11th October.

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Bradley Banda, Jake Victor

Defenders: Louie Annesley, Stefan Ramirez, Jamie Serra, Liam Crisp, Richie Parral, Aidan Ghio

Midfielders: Tjay De Barr, Leon Clinton, Michael Negrette, Andrew Hernandez, Max Cottrell, Julian Valarino, Karl Poggio, Kieron Garcia

Forwards: Theo Pizarro, Cecil Prescott


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *