FG Awards 2016: The Results

Gibraltar United’s Brad Power has been named the FG Young Player of the Year 2016.

Brad start the season as a striker but after the loss of Lee Buhagiar & Aaron Collado who were instrumental in their league win last season, Brad turned into a centre-back and built an excellent partnership with David Gallardo who also started as striker at the beginning of the season.

Brad has played a major part in Gib Utd staying up this season and capped a great season with an international call-up

Lincoln Red Imps’s Joseph Chipolina has been named the FG Player of the Year 2016.

Joseph has been the best player in the league and Gibraltar’s most consistent player in the Euro qualifiers. Joseph plays at left back but spends most of his time as a winger or striker, which explains how he he ended the season with an astounding 16 goals, ten more than the next highest scoring defender.

Gibraltar United’s Manolo Nunez Sanchez has been named the FG Manager of the Year 2016.

Manolo did a great job at Gib Utd this season. Tactically he is one of the best in the league and despite the lack of funds compared to other teams around him and the club’s self-imposed rule of only being able to sign local players, his management of the team meant it was a no brainer to pick him as manager of the season.

The FG Premier Division Team Of The Year 2016

GK – Raul Navas (Lincoln Red Imps)

RB – Jose Manuel Morales (Europa)

CB – Ryan Casciaro (Lincoln Red Imps)

CB – Andres Salas (Lions)

LB – Joseph Chipolina (Lincoln Red Imps)

RM – Kyle Casciaro (Lincoln Red Imps)

CM – Ivan Moya (Europa)

CM – Liam Walker (Lincoln Red Imps)

LM – Jose Gonzalez Barranco (Europa)

ST – George Cabrera (Lincoln Red Imps)

ST – Pedro Carrion (Europa)

The fans have also had their say in who they thought should be walking away with their awards..

Young Player of the Year – Jean Carlos Garcia (Lincoln Red Imps)

Player of the Year – Joseph Chipolina (Lincoln Red Imps)

Manager of the Year – Alfonso Cortijo (St Joseph’s)

Team of the Year:

GK – Kyle Goldwin (Gibraltar United)

RB – Ivan Lobato (St Joseph’s)

CB – Roy Chipolina (Lincoln Red Imps)

CB – Brad Power (Gibraltar United)

LB – Joseph Chipolina (Lincoln Red Imps)

RM – Kyle Casciaro (Lincoln Red Imps)

CM – Ashley Rodriguez (Lions)

CM – Ivan Moya (Europa)

LM – Javi Martinez (Europa)

ST  – Lee Casciaro (Lincoln Red Imps)

ST  – Robert Montovio (Gibraltar United)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *